Law refrains you from sleeping or reading in autonomous cars
Now with autonomous cars around, Department of Motor Vehicles in the State of California have announced some new laws pertaining to such cars. California has approved a set of rules and regulations to be followed when public use autonomous cars from January 1, 2015.
These rules also state that drivers should not sleep, read magazines or news papers or have any other forms of distractions in the vehicles while the operator must be in driver’s seat when the vehicle is maneuvering on public roads. This will allow operators to take control of the vehicle in an instant when deemed fit. Testers of autonomous vehicles should also maintain a log when and why the autonomous function was switched off during the journey.
Each of these autonomous cars and drivers need to be registered with the state and users will need to undergo an intensive driver training course. Manufacturers will also be required to take out a $5 million insurance in case of injury, death or any property damaged by the autonomous vehicle.
Once manufacturers comply with all these regulations they will have to pay $150 to register 10 vehicles and 20 drivers on a one year, renewable permit. These rules have been formulated so as to put restrictions on use of self driving cars as well as to ensure that autonomous cars are tested safely in public.
Related story from earlier today – Google Car unveiled: First driverless car prototype (video)
Email - [email protected]
Latest posts by Sagar Patel (see all)
- 2015 Honda CBR650F price starts from Rs 7.30 lakhs: Specs, Photos, Videos - August 4, 2015
- Mary Barra meets PM Modi: Reveals Chevrolet Trailblazer, Spin launch plans and new investments - July 29, 2015
- Royal Enfield Himalayan production ready variant spied: Is more meaner than imagined - July 28, 2015