Volkswagen Group honors its 29 young apprentices

29 young apprentices from 13 countries received the “Best Apprentice Award 2012. These young apprentices from across the globe had been subject to vocational training…

29 young apprentices from 13 countries received the “Best Apprentice Award 2012. These young apprentices from across the globe had been subject to vocational training at Volkswagen Group and emerged winners both where excellence and professional competence were concerned. 6 female and 23 male apprentices of Volkswagen Group who received this prestigious award, also for the first time included those from MAN and Porsche. The awards were conferred on the recipients by Prof. Dr. Martin Winterkorn, Chairman of Board of Management of Volkswagen Aktiengesellschaft along with Dr. Horst Newmann and Bernd Osterloh who were present at the prize distribution ceremony at MAN in Munich.

Volkswagen Group is currently training over 15,000 apprentices worldwide. The young apprentices who were recognised and conferred these prestigious awards are all aged between 19 and 33 years. They were from across the world and were specially invited to Germany to receive their awards and take part in other activities which spanned a couple of days.

Apprentices at Volkswagen Group are subject to intensive training and first class vocational guidance. It is the company’s way of investing in their own future while at the same time offering opportunities to young talent across the globe giving them sound basis for a lifelong future career.

Auto news release: Volkswagen Group honors its best apprentices from all over the world
“Best Apprentice Award 2012” for 29 young talents from 13 countries

The Volkswagen Group today presented its “Best Apprentice Award 2012” to its top young achievers from all over the world. The award for excellence and professional competence during their vocational training was conferred on six women and 23 men and included apprentices from the new Group companies MAN and Porsche for the first time. A total of 29 young talents from 13 countries were honored.

The awards were presented by the Chairman of the Board of Management of Volkswagen Aktiengesellschaft, Prof. Dr. Martin Winterkorn, the Member of the Board of Management responsible for Human Resources, Dr. Horst Neumann, and the President of the Global Group Works Council, Bernd Osterloh. The ceremony took place at MAN in Munich on the occasion of a meeting of the Group Board of Management and the Global Group Works Council.

Prof. Winterkorn underscored: “We are delighted with the outstanding achievements of the young award winners. Great dedication and professional skill on the part of our employees are one of the factors behind the Volkswagen Group’s success. That is why we will continue to invest extensively in training and developing our young talent.”

Dr. Neumann emphasized: “Specialist knowledge and skills are an essential element of a top team. For that reason, the Volkswagen Group sets great store by first-class vocational training. We are thus investing in the future of the company while at the same time offering young people brilliant career perspectives.” The Group is currently training more than 15,000 young people worldwide.

Osterloh commented: “Our twin-track vocational training system gives young people an excellent foundation for a lifelong career. This success model is the envy of many. So it is good that Volkswagen is developing its vocational training further and rolling out this model worldwide. The apprentices we are honoring today are impressive confirmation of this approach.”

In recognition of their achievements the 29 award winners aged between 19 and 33 years were invited to Germany to participate in an exciting program spanning several days. This year’s “Best Apprentice Award” was the twelfth of its kind presented by the Volkswagen Group, and a total of 258 apprentices have been honored since 2001.

The apprentices recognized in Munich demonstrated outstanding achievements and professional competence in many very different corporate divisions.

Christian Olbricht from Volkswagen in OsnabrĂŒck, for example, who is training both as a mechatronics technician and as an information systems technician, achieved excellent results in vocational competitions: He was the winner of “EuroSkills” and came fifth in “WorldSkills”. Nina Immermann, automotive mechatronics technician at Volkswagen in Emden, won the “ProMechaniker” competition organized by Volkswagen Motorsport and Volkswagen Coaching, thus qualifying for one of the coveted jobs in the pit lane at the Scirocco R-Cup, where she was responsible for putting the race cars on the track and servicing them. The award winners embark on special programs once they have returned home. Four will take part in the “Wanderjahre” (years abroad) program, which allows them to deepen their knowledge and skills at one of the Group’s 99 sites worldwide: These are the winner of the German apprentice machining technicians competition Alexander Baier from Augsburg, and the three mechatronics technicians Damian Machelski from Polkowice, Germo Gattow from Hanover and Marcin Osior from Pozna?.

A further eight award winners will continue their training at university with the support of their respective companies: These are Jurian Bekema from the Netherlands (assembly technician), Audi scholarship holder Lars BethÀuser from Neckarsulm (automation technology), Jessica Klages from Brunswick (automation technology and energy systems), Daniel Röder from Salzgitter (electronics engineering), Filipe Calado Gomes from Brazil (automation technology), Michele Olivieri from Brunswick (business management), Miguel Ángel Rodríguez Paredes from Mexico and Urs Valentin Wetzel from Stuttgart (both mechatronics).

The award-winning apprentices are: Martin Ancsin (Volkswagen Slovakia, Bratislava, Slovakia), Stephanie Arnold (Audi, Ingolstadt), Alexander Baier (MAN Diesel & Turbo, Augsburg), Jurian Bekema (Scania Nederland, Zwolle, Netherlands), Lars BethĂ€user (Audi, Neckarsulm), ÁdĂĄm Borsodi (Audi Hungaria, Györ, Hungary), Junjie Chen (Shanghai-Volkswagen, Shanghai, China), Germo Gattow (Volkswagen Commercial Vehicles, Hanover), Marcus Gorvin (Bentley, Crewe, UK), Nina Immermann (Volkswagen, Emden), Oliver Jahn (Volkswagen Sachsen, Zwickau), Filipe Calado Gomes (Volkswagen do Brasil, SĂŁo Bernardo do Campo, Brazil), VĂĄclav KamĂ­nek (Ć KODA, MladĂĄ Boleslav, Czech Republic), Jessica Klages (Volkswagen, Brunswick), Heiko Knop (Volkswagen, Kassel), Angelina Leicht (Volkswagen, Wolfsburg), Fenglong Li (FAW-Volkswagen, Dalian, China), Damian Machelski (Volkswagen Motor Polska, Polkowice, Poland), Christian Olbricht (Volkswagen, OsnabrĂŒck), Michele Olivieri (Volkswagen Financial Services, Brunswick), Thomas Olzem (Volkswagen, Wolfsburg), Marcin Osior (Volkswagen Pozna?, Poland), Magdalene Pokbaas (Volkswagen of South Africa, Uitenhage, South Africa), Daniel Röder (Volkswagen, Salzgitter), Diogo Salgueiro (Volkswagen Autoeuropa, Setubal, Portugal), Selina Stocker (MAN Truck & Bus, Munich), Miguel Ángel RodrĂ­guez Paredes (Volkswagen de MĂ©xico, Puebla, Mexico), JoaquĂ­n Villalba Miret (SEAT, Martorell, Spain) and Urs Valentin Wetzel (Porsche, Stuttgart).