HomeCar News2014 FIA Formula E Championship team, driver and circuit update

2014 FIA Formula E Championship team, driver and circuit update

The 1.1 mile (2.8km) circuit features 20 turns, and is located in South America’s Monte Carlo. FIA’s newest championship, Formula E fully-electric racing series flags off in Beijing on September 13 2014 travelling to 10 city-centre circuits. South America’s other circuit to be used this season is in Buenos Aires (Round 4, January 10, 2015).

Ten teams will race with 2 drivers each. As on date, 8 of 20 drivers have been conformed. Daniel Abt and Lucas di Grassi for Audi Sport Abt, Sam Bird and Jaime Alguersuari at Virgin Racing, Bruno Senna and Karun Chandhok at Mahindra Racing, Franck Montagny at Andretti Autosport and Jarno Trulli for team TrulliGP.

Other Formula E tracks announced include a race in central Putrajaya in Malaysia for Round 2, and Long Beach, Southern California for Round 7. Formula One driver Jarno Trulli last week announced his team for FIA Formula E Championship, TrulliGP Formula E Team having stepped in in place of Drayson Racing. FIA has approved TrulliGP as its 10th team entry with Drayson Racing withdrawing. In a new development, Drayson Technologies has entered a supply and sponsorship arrangement with TrulliGP as principal technology partner.

Resultantly, TrulliGP will work on Drayson’s wireless charging tech, which is aimed to free electric vehicles from cable-based charging limitations. 39 year old Italian former F1 driver Jarno Trulli is enrolled as a driver, while also being team owner.

FIA Formula E has announced a joint partnership with US-based Edison Electric Institute (EEI), an entity representing American investor-owned electric utility companies. Formula E announced its new Global Initiative, which provides EEI member companies an opportunity to align with Formula E values and goals. The Electric Generation campaign will be instrumental in driving excitement in EV’s to support Formula E’s mission to present electric transportation benefits to people.

Earlier in June 2014, Formula E CEO Alejandro Agag met British Prime Minister David Cameron at International Festival of Business in Liverpool, UK. 2014 season’s Spark-Renault SRT_01E Formula E car designed and built by Spark Racing Technology and British-based motorsport manufacturers was showcased. Spark-Renault SRT_01E sits on a chassis from Dallara, electric motor, gearbox and electronics from McLaren Electronics Systems, batteries from Williams Advanced Engineering, Renault’s overall systems integration, and 18″ treaded tyres from Michelin. Formula E’s new facilities are based at Donington Park.

2014 FIA Formula E Championship series will race in London’s streets on June 27 2015 in a season finale of the 2014/2015 FIA Formula E Championship. Routes are being finalised.

Hanergy Solar Group Limited has been signed as official solar energy partner of Beijing ePrix. Beginning on September 13 2014 Beijing street circuit race is routed around Olympic ‘Bird’s Nest’ Stadium. Hanergy will install its customised rapid deployment solar power system through the event area to contribute to total race energy requirements.

Race needs necessitate converting sunlight to clean solar energy efficiently in limited space, time constraints and varying weather conditions. Hanergy’s rapid deployment solar power system uses advanced CIGS flexible thin-film solar tech for a max conversion rate of 20.5%.
FIA Formula E Championship teams got a real feel of Spark-Renault SRT_01E cars at Donington Park early in June. Teams conducted full day systems checks.

Rushlane Google news