HomeCar News2014 Rally Monte Carlo winners Sébastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia

2014 Rally Monte Carlo winners Sébastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia

Triumphant reception in Monaco – the winners of the Rally Monte Carlo, Sébastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia (France) received their “Monte” trophy in presence of Prince Albert II in front of the steps of the Prince’s Palace in Monaco. The Volkswagen duo recorded an emphatic win at the season opener of the FIA World Rally Championship (FIA) thanks to a sterling display behind the wheel of the Polo R WRC over the 14 special stages of the rally classic. For Volkswagen this was a first triumph at the legendary Rally Monte Carlo. On Sunday fans cheered on their heroes at the podium ceremony in the principality.

At this year’s “Monte” competitors were once again confronted with extremely challenging weather and road conditions. With rain in the valleys and up to 30 cm of fresh snow on the higher ground, the choice of tyres was often the overriding theme of the world’s oldest rally. Volkswagen completed the classic event with all three Polo R WRC vehicles in the points. Jari-Matti Latvala/Miikka Anttila (FIN/FIN) and Andreas Mikkelsen/Mikko Markkula (NOR/FIN) picked up valuable World Championship points in fifth and seventh places respectively. Latvala and Ogier also took first and second in the final Power Stage to secure further points in the World Championship standings. In the evening the winning duo, along with Volkswagen Motorsport director Jost Capito, will also have the honour of celebrating their victory with Prince Albert and Princess Charlène at the traditional gala dinner.

FIA Rally World Championship (WRC),
Rally Monte Carlo – Final Results
1. Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia (F/F), Volkswagen 3h 55m 14.4s
2. Bryan Bouffier/Xavier Panseri (F/F), Ford + 1m 18.9s
3. Kris Meeke/Paul Nagle (GB/IRL), Citroën + 1m 54.3s
4. Mads Østberg/Jonas Andersson (N/S), Citroën + 3m 53.9s
5. Jari-Matti Latvala/Miikka Anttila (FIN/FIN), Volkswagen + 6m 08.3s
6. Elfyn Evans/Daniel Barritt (GB/GB), Ford + 8m 37.4s
7. Andreas Mikkelsen/Mikko Markkula (N/FIN), Volkswagen + 11m 42.3s
8. Jaroslav Melichárek/Erik Melichárek (SK/SK), Ford + 21m 56.2s
9. Matteo Gamba/Nicola Arena (I/I), Peugeot + 23m 50.7s
10. Yuriy Protasov/Pavlo Cherepin (UA/UA), Ford + 25m 43.1s
FIA Rally World Championship (WRC),
Rally Monte Carlo – Power Stage Results
1. Jari-Matti Latvala/Miikka Anttila (FIN/FIN), Volkswagen 10m 41.5s
2. Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia (F/F), Volkswagen + 0.2s
3. Kris Meeke/Paul Nagle (GB/IRL), Citroën + 4.9s
FIA World Rally Championship (WRC), Overall Standings
Drivers’ Championship
1. Sébastien Ogier 27
2. Bryan Bouffier 18
3. Kris Meeke 16
4. Jari-Matti Latvala 13
5. Mads Østberg 12
6. Elfyn Evans 8
7. Andreas Mikkelsen 6
8. Jaroslav Melichárek 4
9. Matteo Gamba 2
10. Yuriy Protasov 1
Manufacturers’ Championship
1. Volkswagen Motorsport 37
2. Citroën Total Abu Dhabi WRT 33
3. M-Sport Ltd. 10
4. Volkswagen Motorsport II 8

2014 Rally Monte Carlo – Day 02

2014 Rally Monte Carlo – Day 01

2014 Rally Monte Carlo – Summary

Rushlane Google news