27 year old Formula 1 driver Pastor Maldonado creates history by becoming the first Venezuelan to win an F1 Grand Prix: 2012 Spanish Grand Prix race result

At the Spanish Grand Prix in Barcelona earlier today, Pastor Maldonado finally kicked his bad luck out of the window and won his first F1 Grand Prix. Bad luck because twice this season he was forced to end his race on the last lap. After winning the 2010 GP2 Championship, Maldonado made his F1 debut earlier last year in Australian Grand Prix as a Williams F1 driver. His win in Barcelona today, gave the British F1 team their first win in 132 races. Williams F1 won their last race at the 2004 Brazilian Grand Prix.

After winning the race, Mr Maldonado said, “I think it’s a wonderful day, not just for me but the whole team. We’ve tried to improve race by race and now here we are. It was a tough race especially because of the rear tyres but I am pretty happy. Fernando did a better start than me but I followed the pace. My first podium and my first victory, you cannot imagine how I feel.”

After today’s race, Vettel and Alonso lead the points table with 61 points, followed by Lewis at 53, Kimi at 49, Webber at 48, Button at 45, Rosberg at 41, Romain at 35, Pastor at 29, Perez at 22, Kobayashi at 19, Paul at 15, Senna at 14, Vergne at 4, Hulkenberg at 3, Daniel at 2, Massa at 2 and Schumacher at 2. Remaining drivers are yet to score.

As far as teams are concerned, Red Bull leads with 109 points, Mclaren at 98, Lotus at 84, Ferrari at 63, Mercedes at 43, Williams at 43, Sauber at 41, Force India at 18, STR at 6 and remaining teams- Marussia, Caterham and HRT are yet to score.

2012 Formula One Spanish Grand Prix Race Result

1 Pastor Maldonado Williams-Renault
2 Fernando Alonso Ferrari
3 Kimi Räikkönen Lotus-Renault
4 Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault
5 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari
6 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Racing-Renault
7 Nico Rosberg Mercedes
8 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes
9 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes
10 Nico Hulkenberg Force India-Mercedes
11 Mark Webber Red Bull Racing-Renault
12 Jean-Eric Vergne STR-Ferrari
13 Daniel Ricciardo STR-Ferrari
14 Paul di Resta Force India-Mercedes
15 Felipe Massa Ferrari
16 Heikki Kovalainen Caterham-Renault
17 Vitaly Petrov Caterham-Renault
18 Timo Glock Marussia-Cosworth
19 Pedro de la Rosa HRT-Cosworth
20 Sergio Perez Sauber-Ferrari – RET
21 Charles Pic Marussia-Cosworth – RET
22 Narain Karthikeyan HRT-Cosworth – RET
23 Bruno Senna Williams-Renault – RET
24 Michael Schumacher Mercedes – RET

Image Source