HomeMotorsportAravind KP to ride for Sherco-TVS Racing at 2017 Dakar

Aravind KP to ride for Sherco-TVS Racing at 2017 Dakar

Aravind KP will ride along with Juan Pedrero, Spanish Champion for Sherco-TVS Rally Factory Team at Dakar 2017 while a third participant, a European rider, will be announced soon.

This is the 3rd consecutive year that Sherco-TVS will be taking part in the Dakar Rally, which is now in its 39th edition that will be held from January 2-17, 2017. The rally covers three countries – Paraguay, Argentina and Bolivia over a distance of 9,000 km in distance and is said to the toughest rally in the world.

Aravind KP is a keen rallyist. He has been an avid racer since past 10 years when he started his racing career as far back as 2005 when he was just 19 years old. TVS Racing first noticed Aravind when he took part in 2006 Gulf Dirt Track National Championship.

To date, Aravind has received 15 wins in National Championships in Dirt Track, Rallies and Motocross. In 2011 he was the first Indian to win an overseas Motocross Championship in Sri Lanka and now looks ahead to participate in Dakar Rally 2017.

Besides gearing up for the grueling Dakar Rally 2017, in October this year, Aravind KP will be taking part in Rally of Morocco. This preparation will play a major role in his training ahead of Dakar Rally.

The Bangalore based rider spends around 8 hours a day on his bike enhancing his navigation skills specially considering the cross country format of the upcoming rally. Dakar Rally sees use of navigation road books that have to be configured to the meter as against an electronic navigation system. 2017 Dakar Rally will see participation of 450 vehicles across 4 classes though it will be interesting to note how many of these make it to the finish line as many don’t finish the toughest race in the world.

Rushlane Google news