Ford Motor confers 12 Gold, 24 Silver and 10 Recognition of Achievement Awards to top performing Suppliers for the year 2011

Ford Motor Company hosted their annual World Excellence Awards on Thursday evening to honor some of the company’s top performing global suppliers. 62 suppliers were recognised at this annual event which was held at Ford World Headquarters at Dearborn, MI.

These suppliers were recognised for the performance in areas of on time delivery and corporate responsibility and it was India’s Amara Raja Batteries of Andhra Pradesh, India who also received recognition for warranty improvement.

The company, through this award ceremony showed their gratitude to their suppliers for living upto the expectations of the company where performance and efficiency were concerned. Ford also recognised 21 suppliers who proved their courage, strength and leadership in steering the company through the numerous natural disasters that affected the company adversely during the past year. All the suppliers played a crucial role in Ford growth across the globe during the past year. It was through their endeavor that the company was able to serve their customers in offering cars of the best quality and safety, cars which were highly fuel efficient and equally elegant in design and value.

News release: Ford Honors Top-Performing Suppliers for Excellent Service and Outstanding Support in 2011

Ford’s global suppliers recognized for their strong performance in 2011

The World Excellence Awards acknowledge superior performance in key areas including on-time delivery and corporate responsibility

Ford Motor Company hosted its annual World Excellence Awards Thursday evening honoring the company’s top performing global suppliers. Sixty-two suppliers were recognized during the 14th annual event held at Ford World Headquarters.

Tony Brown, group vice president, Global Purchasing, thanked each supplier for its dedication and hard work throughout 2011. “Suppliers are a critical part of our success, and a driving force for continued growth at Ford Motor Company. Without the support, hard work and innovation of our suppliers, we would not be able to deliver on our promise to build quality vehicles,” Brown said. “In 2011, our suppliers stepped up to the challenge of building vehicles that improve commonality and efficiency in more ways than ever before, and we are grateful for their unwavering commitment.”

Production and nonproduction suppliers were recognized for outstanding quality, on-time delivery, innovative and sustainable solutions, cost competitiveness, corporate responsibility, customer satisfaction, continuous improvement and overall business relationships. Ford also recognized 21 suppliers for their courage, strength and leadership following several natural disasters around the world. Honorees represent Tier 1 and 2 suppliers that demonstrated excellence despite the challenges and worked to minimize production disruptions.

Ford president and CEO Alan Mulally thanked all of Ford’s supplier partners for their commitment to excellence and for continuing to embrace the ONE Ford mindset. “Our suppliers play a critical role in Ford’s growth around the world,” Mulally said. “We are so grateful for their work to serve our global customers with a full family of cars, utilities and trucks offering the very best quality, fuel efficiency, safety, smart design and value.”

There are three types of World Excellence Awards – Gold, Silver and Recognition of Achievement in addition to the Special Recognition this year for Excellence in the Face of Adversity. Gold and Silver awards are presented to suppliers demonstrating superior quality, delivery and cost performance. Twelve Gold and 24 Silver awards were presented this year.

The Recognition of Achievement award is given to suppliers who improve customer satisfaction by providing significant contributions in key areas including: New Consumer-Focused Technology, Consumer-Driven 6-Sigma, Durability and Reliability, Corporate Responsibility, Community Service and new this year, ABF Principles. Ten suppliers received the Recognition of Achievement award.

The 2011 winners are:


Active Aero Group: Belleville, Mich., U.S. – Air Charter Logistics
Autoliv: La Pobla De Vallbona, Spain – Airbags
Clifford Thames: Chelmsford, Essex, United Kingdom – Data Processing
Jackson – Dawson Communication: Dearborn, Mich., U.S. – Marketing Events & Dealer Training
Key Safety Systems: Knoxville, Tenn., U.S. – Driver Air Bags
Magna Powertrain – Litens Automotive: Woodbridge, Ontario, Canada – Fead Systems
Robert Bosch: St. Joseph, Mich., U.S. – Brake Actuation
Summit Polymers: Nanjing, China – Instrument Panel Components
Takata Automotive Electronics: Shanghai, China – Restraints Electronics
Voith: Camaçari, Bahia, Brazil – Production Line Maintenance
Webasto: Schierling, Germany – Sliding Roofs
ZF Getriebe: Saarbrücken, Germany – Automatic Transmissions


Brose: Santa Margardia, Els Monjos, Spain – Window Regulators
Butcher Engineering Enterprises: Windsor, Ontario, Canada – Material Recovery Center Operations
Cooper Standard: Mitchell, Ontario, Canada – Mounts
Diehl Metall: São Paulo, Brazil – Synchronizer Rings
DS Smith PSM: Monmouth, Monmouthshire, United Kingdom – Packaging & Vehicle Protection
Dura Automotive Systems: Lawrenceburg, Tenn.,, U.S. – Window Assemblies
Exotic Automation & Supply: Farmington Hills, Mich., U.S. – Industrial Materials – Fluid Power
Faurecia: Valencia Almussafes, Spain – Door Trim Panels
Flex-N-Gate – Ventura: Grand Rapids, Mich., – Metal Bumpers
Ghafari Associates: Dearborn, Mich., – Architectural Engineering Services
Gil Mar Manufacturing – PGI Far East Precision Products: Shanghai, China – Iron Engine Castings
Global Parts & Maintenance: Westland, Mich., U.S. – OEM Spare Parts Management
Hankook Tire: Daedok-Gu, Daejeon, Korea – Tires
Henkel: Buenos Aires, Argentina – Sealers & Adhesives
Honeywell Garrett: Atessa Chieti, Italy – Turbochargers
Magna – Cosma International: Camaçari, Bahia, Brazil = Frames & Cross Members
Omron Automotive Electronics: St. Charles, Ill., U.S. – Fuel Pump Modules
Rudolph / Libbe: Walbridge, Ohio, U.S. – CCM, Demo & Decommissioning
Ruedas De Venezuela – Gabriel: Valencia, Venezuela – Mufflers & Exhaust
Ronal: Walbrzych, Poland – Wheels
Sanyo Electric – Mobile Energy: Sumoto, Hyogo, Japan – HEV Battery Systems
Tung Thih Electronics: Xiamen, Fujian, China – Park Aids
Valeo Electrical Systems: Czechowice – Dziedzice, Poland – Starter Assemblies
Warn Industries: Milwaukie, Ore., U.S. – Axles

Recognition of Achievement

Amara Raja Batteries: Andrah Pradesh, India – Warranty Improvement
Delphi: Troy, Mich., U.S. – Supplier Diversity Development – Corporation of the Year
Ewie Co. Inc.: Ann Arbor, Mich., U.S. – Supplier Diversity Development – Diverse Supplier of the Year
Flex-N-Gate: Urbana, Ill., U.S. – ABF Principles
Iochpe Maxion – Fumagalli: San Luis Potosi, Mexico – Durability & Reliability
Prime Wheel: Gardena, Calif., U.S. – ABF Principles
Röchling Automotive: Worms, Germany – New Consumer-Focused Technology
Saturn Electronics & Engineering: Rochester Hills, Mich., U.S. – Corporate Responsibility
SET Enterprises: Warren, Mich., U.S. – Community Service
Visteon – Planta Carolinas: Chihuahua, Mexico – Consumer Driven 6-Sigma

Excellence in the Face of Adversity

DriveSol Worldwide
Fujitsu Semiconductor
International Automotive Components
Johnson Controls
Pioneer Electronics
PPG Industries
Renesas Electronics
ROHM Semiconductor
Sharp Electronics