HomeBike NewsHonda Foundation in India YES Award for IIT students

Honda Foundation in India YES Award for IIT students

Young Engineers and Scientists Awards were presented to fourteen students from Indian Institute of Technology. YES awards were instituted by Honda Foundation in India in 2008. Chief Guest, His Excellency, Takeshi Yagi, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary, Embassy of Japan, presented awards to students recognised for outstanding all round performance in academics.

Honda Foundation felicitates Indian students at the 8th Young Engineers and Scientists’ (Y-E-S) awards for 2014

Kunio Nakajima, Vice President, Honda Foundation and Yoshiyuki Matsumoto, Managing Officer, Honda Motor Company and Representative of Development, Purchasing and Production in Asia and Oceania Region were in attendance.

Honda Foundation in India’s YES award initiative is facilitated by HMIL to foster young students who excel in science and tech, and aspire for higher academic achievement in Eco-Technology. Financial assistance is provided to young engineers and researchers. The platform also creates opportunities of higher professional education in Japan, and strengthens Indo-Japanese relations. A scholarship of $3000 each was presented to fourteen students from eight IIT’s based on their Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA), technical papers, essays and one-on-one interviews with Dr. D R Prasada Raju, Scientist, Dept. of Science and Technology, Government of India, chief assessor of the selection committee.

Yoshiyuki Matsumoto says it has been Honda’s endeavour to promote and encourage young students to undertake higher research in the field of technology. Honda strives to provide them an opportunity with YES awards. All editions YES awards has been received well by IIT students who make great efforts to showcase their work. 98 students have been awarded in 8 years. 2014 YES awardees are Nikhil Oberoi and Sajal Maheshwari – BHU, Anand Pradeep Lalwani, Harsh Anil Kabra, Shyam Sunder Prasad – Bombay, Suman Shekhar – Delhi, Shreya Raina – Guwahati, Akshay Aggarwal, Akshay Vijay Chaudhari, Siddharth Prusty – Kanpur, Yash Chandnani -Kharagpur, Vishal Subbiah – Madras, Aman Gupta, and Madhav Kiritkumar Pathak – Roorkee.

Rushlane Google news