New Hyundai i20 Elite wins the prestigious Indian Car of the Year 2015 award

Dr. Raghupati Singhania, Chairman & Managing Director of JK Tyre & Industries Limited, and Bob Rupani, Chairman of ICOTY 2015 made the announcement and presented the Indian Car of the Year award to Hyundai Motor India team. The ceremony was conducted in Mumbai, with a gathering of plenty of notable people in the auto industry.

Hyundai Elite i20-017 photo
New generation Hyundai i20 bags the Indian Car of the Year 2015 trophy.

The car was very well expected to claim the title, given its overwhelming pre-orders and streak of bursting bookings since the car launched in 11th August 2014. Also, India had the honour of receiving the second generation Hyundai i20 first in the whole world, and it surely paid the South Korean carmaker off well.

In just four months into launch, Hyundai Elite i20 received over 60,000 bookings and 32,000 units rolled out of showrooms. Hence, it easily outran its close contenders, Maruti Suzuki Ciaz and Honda City, in the ICOTY contest.

hyundai i20 2015 icoty
From left – Mr. Bo Shin Seo, MD and CEO, Hyundai Motor India, Dr. Raghupati Singhania, Chairman & Managing Director, JK Tyre & Industries Limited and Mr. Rakesh Srivastava, Sr. Vice President, Sales and Marketing, Hyundai India at the award function with the new i20.

It is to be noted that Hyundai is claiming the award for the third time since ICOTY was inaugurated, and Elite i20 brings Hyundai the honour of being the first automaker to win the title for second consecutive year.

Here is a list of all the cars that bagged ICOTY awards:

Maruti Suzuki Swift (2006)
Honda Civic (2007)
Hyundai i10 (2008)
Honda City (2009)
Tata Nano (2010)
Ford Figo (2011)
Maruti Suzuki Swift (2012)
Renault Duster (2013)
Hyundai i10 Grand (2014)
Hyundai Elite i20 (2015)