HomeEverything ElseMadras Institute of Technology co-wins Perseverance and Team Spirit award: Shell Eco-marathon...

Madras Institute of Technology co-wins Perseverance and Team Spirit award: Shell Eco-marathon Asia 2014

Since their car was unable to arrive in manila, they made a few desperate attempts to recover the car. Notwithstanding their ill-fate, the team approached Shell and with their support, managed to borrow a vehicle from local Philippines team De La Salle University. The car is question was the team’s 2011 entry for the same Prototype Battery Electric category. This undying spirit didn’t go unnoticed, and both De La Salle University, Philippines and Madras Institute of Technology, India co-won the offtrack Perseverance and Team Spirit award.

“We are so grateful for all the support from Shell, De La Salle University and all the teams from other countries who rallied to help us. When we cleared technical inspection, we felt so relieved and on top of the world achieving something which seemed almost impossible a few days ago. We are honoured to be presented this off-track award,” said Subramanian Senthil Kumar, a student representative of Madras Institute of Technology.

“This team stood out because of their persistence and determination while maintaining a positive attitude. From having no car to passing technical inspection and obtaining a valid track run, the team is exemplary of perseverance and spirit of the event. They have been recognised for their proactiveness, resourcefulness and initiative in finding ways to still compete in the challenge, making the impossible, possible. The cooperation between students from different countries coming together and helping despite being competitors is what Shell Eco-marathon is all about”, said Mr Viswakumar Menon, Country Head of Communications, Shell Group of Companies – India.

VIT University, Vellore; Madras Institute of Technology, Chennai (two teams); SRM University, Chennai; Sir M Visvesvaraya Institute of Technology, Bangalore (two teams); K.J.Somaiya College Of Engineering, Mumbai; Delhi Technological University, New Delhi; Gautam Buddha University, Greater Noida; Manav Rachna International University, Faridabad; National Institute of Technology, Jalandhar; and Chitkara Institute of Engineering & Technology, Rajpura represented India. All 12 participating teams cleared the technical rounds for Shell Eco-marathon Asia establishing a new record for India.

Rushlane Google news