Mahindra Adventure teams use diesel XUV500 SUV Dakshin Dare Rally 2012 Ultimate (Extreme) category

Mahindra Adventure won big at the 4th Dakshin Dare 2012 Rally. The 5 day rally that ended at Bangalore saw Mahindra Adventure take the top titles. Driving the Mahindra  XUV500 SUV, national champion Gaurav Gill with co-driver Musa Sheriff and Lohitt  Urs with co-driver Chipong Chiwan took the top two spots in the Ultimate (Extreme) category. This makes the diesel XUV500 SUV the first to win in an extreme category in an Indian rally.

Team Mahindra Adventure drivers Sanjay Takale with co-driver Musthafa and Karthick Maurthi with co-driver Sankar Anand drove Mahindra Scorpio SUV’s and secured first and second place in the Endurance category. K.S. Venkatesh with co-driver Chandra Sekaran took the Mahindra Thar SUV acroos the lie first in the Corporate category.

With 3 top spots and 2 runner up titles at the 2012 Dakshin Dare Rally, Mahindra Adventure team drivers have done well. The diesel XUV500 SUV warrants a special mention considering this is the first time the vehicle has participated in the rally being the latest SUV launched by M&M.
Press release: Mahindra Adventure Team sweeps top positions at Dakshin Dare Rally 2012

Becomes the First Diesel Car / SUV to win the Extreme category in India

Team Mahindra Adventure took the Dakshin Dare 2012 Rally by storm, making a clean sweep at the top titles, in the 4th edition of the gruelling five-day rally that concluded in Bangalore recently.

The highlight of team Mahindra Adventure’s triumph, was the spectacular grit of the Mahindra  XUV 500 and the determination displayed by their drivers, especially National champion Gaurav Gill (co-driver Musa Sheriff) and Lohitt  Urs (co-driver Chipong Chiwan), who zoomed to the top two spots in the Ultimate (Extreme) category. This victory marked a triumph for the magnificent car which became the first diesel SUV to win an extreme category in the history of Indian rallying.

The other drivers who made this a memorable rally for Team Mahindra Adventure were Sanjay Takale (co-driver Musthafa) and Karthick Maurthi (co-driver Sankar Anand) behind the wheel of Mahindra Scorpios, which finished first and second respectively in the Endurance category. To top it off, K.S. Venkatesh (co-driver Chandra Sekaran) steered his powerful Mahindra Thar past the finish line, ahead of the pack, in the Corporate category.

Commenting on the daring success of the Mahindra Adventure rally team’s performance, Mr. Vivek Nayer, Sr. Vice-President, Marketing, Automotive Division, Mahindra & Mahindra Ltd. said, “This unprecedented clean sweep by Mahindra vehicles is a testimony to the tough and rugged ‘Mahindra DNA’.  Our vehicles have conquered the southern terrain with dogged determination and confidence, creating history in Indian motor sports.  We are proud to have won one of the toughest rallies, and our winning teams deserve special mention for their unstinted passion to take on challenges, their spirit of adventure and their exceptional desire to win.”


Extreme Category: 1. Gaurav Gill/Musa Sheriff (Mahindra); 2. Lohitt Urs/Chipong Chiwan (Mahindra); 5. Suhem Kabeer/Jeeva Rathinam (Mahindra).

Endure Category: 1. Sanjay Takale/Musthafa (Mahindra); 2. Karthick Maruthi/Sankar Anand (Mahindra);

Corporate Category: 1.Venkatesh/Chendrasekaran (Mahindra)