Jagmeet Gill and Chandan Sen win Maruti Suzuki Arunachal Rally

5th leg of the Maruti Suzuki National Super Leage TSD Rally Championships 2016 – Arunachal Rally concluded in Dambuk. The rally covered a distance of over 700 kms from Itanagar to Dambuk with over 40 participants competing for the title.

Jagmeet Gill and Chandan Sen who drove a Maruti Vitara Brezza emerged winners clocking penalties of just 00:07:18. In second place was Ali Ajgar & Mustafa Mohd in an S-Cross clocking 00:08:41 in penalties, while Sachin Singh & M Prakash in a Maruti Suzuki Swift clocked 00:12:48 and were in third position.

This was for the first time that North East India was chosen for Maruti Suzuki motorsports events while Hon’ble Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh – Mr. Pema Khandu presented trophies to the winners at an event which also coincided with the Orange Festival of Adventure and Music in Dambuk.

Speaking of the rally, Mr. Jagmeet Gill stated that the TSD rally championship held for the first time in North East India, was a great experience. Participants tackled some of the most challenging of terrains in the region as they drove through dense forests, steep mountainous regions and snow capped peaks in Itanagar, Pasighat and Dambuk. Jagmeet Gill now looks forward to the final leg in Gujarat where he hopes to continue with his winning streak.

These Maruti Suzuki Rally events follow a Time-Speed-Distance format testing the skills of both the driver and navigator while retaining the spirit of motorsports. The championships now move to Gujarat in January 2017 for the Desert Storm Rally.

News Release