Maruti Suzuki Deccan Rally 2016, Pune to Goa, 750 kms

Maruti Suzuki Deccan Rally, the second round of Maruti Suzuki National Super League TSD Rally Championship 2016 was a two leg rally that traversed the Pune to Goa route via Guhagar. With 735.30 kms total distance travelled, rally drivers ended day one after 321.83 kms at Mango Resort, Guhagar in Ratnagiri. Day 2 saw participants head to Goa via Ganpatiphule, travelling another 413.47 kms.

Day one saw rallyists head out from 6:30 in the morning onward from Hinjewadi down the Tamhini ghat road towards Guhagar. At the end of day one, drivers completed a track event at Mango resort to clock in their final time for Leg one of the rally.

Maruti Suzuki Deccan Rally - Pune to Goa (1)

The off road track within resort premises included a slalom segment, reversing at a tight corner and reversing on a long narrow stretch among other obstacles. The quickest times for this extreme segment was clocked in under 3:30 minutes. Maruti Suzuki Deccan Rally 2016 Leg 1 results were as follows: 1. Karthick Maruthi, 2. Sachin Singh, and 3. Sandeep Dodhiwala.

At the end of Leg 2, Karthick Maruthi and S Sankar Anand in a Maruti Suzuki Brezza took home the winning crown. Sachin Singh and Prakash M came in second in a Maruti Swift, and Ajgar Ali and M Musthafa in a Maruti Suzuki S-Cross finished third. Each of these three teams was sponsored by Maruti Suzuki India Limited.

Maruti Suzuki Deccan Rally - Pune to Goa (2)

Karthick Maruti and S Sankar Anand (Team Maruti) leading with a total penalty of 15 minutes 6 seconds

Sachin Singh and Prakash M (Team Maruti) second with a total penalty of 15 minutes 19 seconds

Ajgar Ali and M Musthafa (Team Maruti) third with a total penalty of 15 minute 52 seconds

The best performing woman’s team, from among a total of 11 woman participants, was led by Sheena Sabharwal along with Prathibha Anand who received their trophy at the prize distribution ceremony held in Goa from Amit Kamat, Maruti Suzuki Regional Manager (West). The final winner of the six rally series will be awarded a Maruti Suzuki Vitara Brezza.

Maruti Deccan Rally 2016 Pune to Goa (1)

Maruti Suzuki National Super League TSD Rally Championship (MSNSTSDRC) 2016 Deccan Rally saw 35 teams participating in the Time Speed and Distance event to take on challenges along the 750 km route from Pune to Goa via Ratnagiri. The rally was open for the 4 wheeler category divided into four groups – Non-Championship – Expert, Non-Championship – Amateur, Denizen – Expert, and Denizen – Amateur which put participants through a series of challenges testing the skill of both driver and navigator.

Maruti Suzuki National Super League TSD Rally Championships 2016 is a combination of 6 rallies that includes the Uttarakhand Rally, Deccan Rally, Backwaters Rally, Mughal Rally, Gujarat Rally and Arunachal Rally.

Team Maruti with their awards at the Maruti Suzuki Deccan Rally

For past 15 years, Maruti Suzuki has been actively promoting motorsports in India. This includes Maruti Suzuki Raid-De-Himalaya, Maruti Suzuki Desert Storm and Maruti Suzuki Dakshin Dare and National TSD Championship. Each of these rallies not only demonstrates a sense of adventure but also actively promotes safe driving habits among participants.