Mercedes F1 driver Nico Rosberg grabs pole in China, Hamilton second, Schumi third, Kimi fifth, Alonso ninth, and Vettel eleventh

Earlier today at the 2012 Formula One Chinese Grand Prix Qualifying, 26 year old German driver driving for a German team, Mercedes F1, Nico Rosberg grabbed his first ever pole position after posting a lap time of 1:35.121, which is also the fastest of the day. Nico posted this time within the first five minutes of Q3 qualifying, after which he returned to pits and retired for the day, even when other cars were competing.

Lewis Hamilton posted the second best lap time of 1:35.626. But Lewis has also been awarded a five place penalty by stewards at the Chinese GP because he needs to change gearbox of his F1 car. This allows seven time champion, Michael Schumacher to start in the front row for tomorrow’s final race. Schumi posted a lap time of 1:35.691 which placed him on the third spot for today’s Chinese F1 qualifying. For the first time ever, Mercedes F1 team will have their cars in the front row.

Current world champion, Sebastian Vettel had a disastrous qualifying session as he failed to qualify for Q3. Red Bull Racing’s star driver posted a lap time of 1:36.031 in Q2, which was not enough to beat Romain Grosjean’s time of 1:35.903. Vettel’s team mate, Mark Webber had a comparatively better day as he finished 7th. Ferrari driver’s Alonso and Massa too had an unimpressive outing in China today as they qualified 9th and 12th respectively.

Following is the official qualifying result for 2012 F1 Chinese Grand Prix;

1 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:35.121
2 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1:35.626
3 Michael Schumacher Mercedes 1:35.691
4 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 1:35.784
5 Kimi Räikkönen Lotus-Renault 1:35.898
6 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1:36.191
7 Mark Webber Red Bull Racing-Renault 1:36.290
8 Sergio Perez Sauber-Ferrari 1:36.524
9 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1:36.622
10 Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault 1:35.903
11 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Racing-Renault 1:36.031
12 Felipe Massa Ferrari 1:36.255
13 Pastor Maldonado Williams-Renault 1:36.283
14 Bruno Senna Williams-Renault 1:36.289
15 Paul di Resta Force India-Mercedes 1:36.317
16 Nico Hulkenberg Force India-Mercedes 1:36.745
17 Daniel Ricciardo STR-Ferrari 1:36.956
18 Jean-Eric Vergne STR-Ferrari 1:37.714
19 Heikki Kovalainen Caterham-Renault 1:38.463
20 Vitaly Petrov Caterham-Renault 1:38.677
21 Timo Glock Marussia-Cosworth 1:39.282
22 Charles Pic Marussia-Cosworth 1:39.717
23 Pedro de la Rosa HRT-Cosworth 1:40.411
24 Narain Karthikeyan HRT-Cosworth 1:41.000
Q1 107% Time 1:42.931

Due to penalty awarded to Hamilton, Schumi will start 2nd,Kobayashi 3rd, Kimi 4th, Button 5th, Webber 6th and Hamilton 7th.

Schumacher’s reaction after listening to Nico’s lap time on team radio.


Image Source