Mercedes rules in China F1 race: All three drivers on podium drove Mercedes powered cars

It is a big day today for Mercedes. At the recently concluded 2012 Formula One Chinese Grand Prix, Mercedes F1 Team driver, Nico Rosberg won his first ever Formula 1 race. The other two drivers on podium in China were Button and Hamilton, both of which drive for McLaren-Mercedes F1 Team. This makes Mercedes as an overall winner in today’s race in Shanghai, China.

After the race, Rosberg said: “Unbelievable feeling, very cool, very happy, very excited. It’s been a long time coming for me and the team also. It’s amazing, and it’s really nice to see how quickly we are progressing, I didn’t expect to be that fast.”

Button said: “Before the final stop our race pace was good, especially on the harder tyre, and then the last stop, I stopped on the marks and we had problems with the rear of the car and lost nine to 10 seconds. It was a pity because I had four cars in front of me, and I would have had a nice clear track to hunt down Nico. It would have been a big gap but I would have given it a go.”

Hamilton said: “I’m very happy to make it up to the podium. The team did a great job through the pit stops and I think it was one of the best races so far in the season. It was incredible. Fantastic day.”

Following is the 2012 Formula One Chinese Grand Prix race result;

1 Nico Rosberg Mercedes
2 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes
3 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes
4 Mark Webber Red Bull Racing-Renault
5 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Racing-Renault
6 Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault
7 Bruno Senna Williams-Renault
8 Pastor Maldonado Williams-Renault
9 Fernando Alonso Ferrari
10 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari
11 Sergio Perez Sauber-Ferrari
12 Paul di Resta Force India-Mercedes
13 Felipe Massa Ferrari
14 Kimi Räikkönen Lotus-Renault
15 Nico Hulkenberg Force India-Mercedes
16 Jean-Eric Vergne STR-Ferrari
17 Daniel Ricciardo STR-Ferrari
18 Vitaly Petrov Caterham-Renault
19 Timo Glock Marussia-Cosworth
20 Charles Pic Marussia-Cosworth
21 Pedro de la Rosa HRT-Cosworth
22 Narain Karthikeyan HRT-Cosworth
23 Heikki Kovalainen Caterham-Renault

Michael Schumacher Mercedes – RET

To read more about today’s race, click here.

Image Source