HomeMotorsportKarthik triumphs Round 2 MRF 1600 championship

Karthik triumphs Round 2 MRF 1600 championship

Karthik topped both MRF 1600 championship practice sessions, qualifed on pole, won both races and set the fastest lap. Karthik was fastest in all practice sessions. He qualified in pole at a lap time of 1:41.886. Behind him, Arjun Narendran, Goutham Parekh and Siddharth Trivellore were separated by less than two tenths of a second during practice.

TT Varadarajan, Arjun Narendran, Karthik Tharani and Siddharth Trivellore on podium for 2015 Round 2 MRF 1600 championship

Karthik had a good start in Race 1 MRF 1600 championship to lead into first corner. Narendran held off Parekh and Trivellore for 2nd place. Karthik pulled ahead, while Narendran and Parekh raced a close one. A mistake by Narendran helped Parekh pass him on the straight heading into Anands corner. Karthik won his first race of the season comfortably. Parekh finished 2nd, Narendran 3rd and Trivellore in 4th. Actor Jai finish in 6th position in only his 3rd race.

In Race 2, Trivellore started on reverse grid pole alongside Narendran. For 6 laps, the top 4 were separated by 1.5 seconds. On lap 7 Narendran tried a move on Trivellore, and both drivers went wide. Karthik pulled into lead. Narendran finished in 2nd place, and Trivellore 3rd. This was his first 2015 MRF 1600 championship podium finish.

Karthik Tharani Singh said it was fantastic to top all sessions in a race weekend. It’s the first time he has done so in his single seater career. He thanked MRF for such a great car. He feels he drove really well in a strategic race, and was happy that it worked in his favour.

Arjun Narendran was with two podium finishes. He said Karthik has been quick all weekend and was happy to get two podium finishes. Both races were close. Siddharth (Trivellore) and he were having a great race but unfortunately both ran wide and let Karthik through. The Championship being close, he looks forward to the break before the next round. Karthik Tharani Singh has secured 80 points thus far for the 2015 MRF 1600 championship season. Goutham Parekh is in 2nd place with 73 points with Arjun Narendran in 3rd place with 70 points.

Rushlane Google news