HomeEverything ElseGaurav Gill wins 2015 Mahindra Adventure Rally of Maharashtra

Gaurav Gill wins 2015 Mahindra Adventure Rally of Maharashtra

By a margin of four minutes, national champion Gaurav Gill, 33 from Delhi and co driver Musa Sherif claimed the top spot at Mahindra Adventure Rally of Maharashtra, round 2 of FMSCI Indian Rally Championship held in Nasik over the past weekend. Gill and co driver clocked overall timing of 1hr 26min 25sec.

Mahindra’s flagship SUV, XUV500 was also the winner at 2014 Rally of Maharashtra. Seen here is a photo clicked at this year’s rally.

Clocking second on the timing sheet was Amitrajit Ghosh and co driver Ashwin Naik who was second, clocking overall timing of 1hr 30min 26sec while drive of the day was clinched by Arjun Rao Aroor and co driver Sathish Rajagopan in a Volkswagen Polo R2. Ghosh and Aroor tied going into the final run of Spectator Special Stage.

Closely following the top three was Lohitt Urs from Mysore who raced in a Mitsubishi EVO VIII. He arrived in Nashik just hours prior to the start of the rally, while his spares and tyres arrived later forcing him to run on street tyres with just 50 liters of fuel.

The winner, Gaurav Gill standing next to his winning car.

Gill was ecstatic about his win which also marks his 21st win with Sherif over the past 8 years. The Special Stages held in Rally of Maharashtra were both technical and fast which suited Gill’s style while Gill looks ahead to even more wins during the year.

Below are a few images of the the Mahindra XUV500, the winning car from this year’s Rally of Maharashtra.

Rushlane Google news