Tata T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship Season 3 to have Indian drivers

Tata Motors have announced that the season 3 of the T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship will take place on March 20 at the Buddh International Circuit in Greater Noida. While the one-on-its-kind Indian motorsport event will continue to have a lineup of professional truck racers from Europe, this year’s edition will also witness the addition of a new category comprising all-Indian driver lineup.

The company has announced that the 12 strong Indian driver lineup will be selected through a driver training and selection program. These drivers will be shortlisted from the pool of drivers who are employed with the automaker’s key customers. Unfortunately, unless you’re a professional commercial vehicle driver under the employment of one of Tata’s important fleet customers you are not eligible to participate in the audition.

Tata T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship (2)
There will be two race categories – Super Class (India drivers) and Pro Class (International drivers).

The objective of creating Indian drivers category is to make the profession of truck driving an aspirational one. Tata Motors hopes that the racing championship would act as a catalyst to induct more drivers into the commercial vehicles profession.

Also read – Tata Prima range of construction vehicles showcased at EXCON 2015

On the race day, two events will be held – Super Class (Indian drivers) and Pro Class (experienced international racers). The equipment used for racing will be purpose built Tata Prima tractors with high performance components. Like the previous editions, there will be six teams fielding two trucks each.

Tata T1 Prima Truck Racing Champion 2015 – Photos

You might also like More from author