Team Yokohama at Indian Rally Championship

Team Yokohama at Indian Rally Championship

It will be for the first time that Team Yokohama will be participating in 2014 Indian Rally Championship, being held this weekend in Nashik, Maharashtra. Being conducted by the Federation of Motor Sports Clubs in India (FMSCI), the Japanese tyre majors will have a strong representation at IRC while they strengthen their motorsport activities in the country.

Team Yokohama at Indian Rally ChampionshipYokohama India’s Team Yokohama will be participating in the Indian Rally Championships from 13-15 June in Nashik with a team comprising of Rahul Kanthraj who will participate in the 2000cc category and Vikram Devdasan who is participating in the 1600cc category and is currently ranked 3rd in India.

The company’s participation in these events is especially momentous as they are participating as a team for the first time, while they supported only one car in the 2007 Raid De Himalaya. The rally will comprise of 108.05 kms of Special Stages with total distance of 621.31 kms. Super Special Stage of 2.03 kms will be conducted on Friday while Saturday and Sunday is when Special Stages will be held during which time Yokohama rally tyres will be put to the test, testing the limits and showcasing its unmatched performance and high level of durability.

Yokohama Tyres have been actively involved in Motorsports over the past few years. The company is the sole provider of tyres to FIA World Touring Car Championship since 2006 while they are also sole tyre suppliers to International Formula 3 Grand Prix Macau for the past 31 years.

Yokohama Tyres has also won several international awards for their high performance on board commercial vans and for off track performance while they are official suppliers to car manufacturers such as Audi, Honda, Mercedes Benz, Mitsubishi, Nissan, Porsche, Suzuki and Toyota.


About the author