HomeCar NewsTraffic cop thrashed by irate MLAs in Mumbai

Traffic cop thrashed by irate MLAs in Mumbai

The vehicle which was stopped and fined by Sachin, belonged to Nalasopara MLA Kshitij Thakur. Little did Sachin know at the time when he was performing his duty, that it would lead to an all-out assault on him from Thakur and at least 14 other legislators, and that too inside the premises of Maharashtra State Legislative Assembly in Mumbai.

The news obviously made headlines in newspapers today. But how were these MLAs able beat a cop, inside a government building, where there is no dearth of security personnel? Times reports, that these MLAs, including MNS’s Ram Kadam, dragged Sachin from the visitor’s gallery, where he was sitting and was kicked and punched several times in his chest, neck and abdomen. Suryavanshi was badly bruised and was rushed to the hospital where his condition is stated to be stable.

An FIR has been registered with Marine Drive police against a total of 15 legislators which included Kshitij Thakur – MLA from Nalasopara and Ram Kadam of the MNS. Senior IPS officers have taken up the matter with the Chief Minister and Deputy Minister besides the Home Minister who have all promised action. The matter is transferred to the Mumbai Crime Branch where Commissioner of Police Himanshu Roy is heading the probe.

Speaker has apologized while the Chief Minister and Home Minister have assured their intervention and scrutiny of the situation preceding such an outburst and suitable action against the offenders. The fact of the matter remains that a traffic cop just doing his duty was the brunt of this brutal attack.

In another instance, this one from our capital, Narendar Kumar, Assistant sub-inspector (traffic police), was shot at by three motorcyclists, while he was issuing them a challan for driving on the wrong side of the road on Delhi – Gurgaon expressway. The trio have fled and Narendra is battling for his life at a local hospital.

Rushlane Google news