Volkswagen Polo R Cup 2011 champion Vishnu Prasad

18 year old Chennai student was crowned as the 2011 Volkswagen Polo R Cup Champion earlier yesterday at the Irungattukottai Race Track, Sriperumbudur, Chennai. While 23 year old Pune student Oshan Kothadiya was crowned as the runners-up of this year’s Polo R Cup.

Polo R Cup 2011 champion, Vishnu Prasad said, “I am thrilled to win the 2011 Volkswagen Polo R Cup Championship in what has been an excellent season for me. This year has been really hard as the competition has been so evenly matched. I would like to thank Volkswagen for organizing a great championship and for all the help they have provided me with over the year. The car has been magnificent to drive all season long and all credit must go to the team. My main aim for the race was to finish ahead of my rivals and not try anything risky, which I managed to do.”

Sunny Siddhu was the guest driver for yesterday’s race along with Maiken Ramussen, international women racer. Both of them set the pace at the last race of the season as Sunny managed to win the second race which he led from the start, while Maiken finished second.

Sunny Sidhu said after the race, “I am very thankful to Volkswagen for giving me this opportunity to race at the Volkswagen Polo R Cup. It has been a wonderful experience and the Race Polo is a well made car and it handled really well. I would like to congratulate the champion and wish him all the best for his racing career.”

Mr. Prithviraj Siddappa, Head of Volkswagen Motorsport India, said, “It has been a great season and the last race has been one of the most memorable ones, thanks to the presence of international drivers and veteran race driver Sunny Sidhu. The fact that the championship was not won until the last race made the Championship even more exciting. I would like to thank the efforts made by my whole team to make this a highly successful season.”