HomeMotorsportVolkswagen Polo R Cup 2012 winner Ameya Walavalkar

Volkswagen Polo R Cup 2012 winner Ameya Walavalkar

JK Tyre Volkswagen Polo R Cup 2012 final races, part of Sidvin Festival of Speed were held through the weekends at the Buddh International Circuit in Greater Noida. Close to 125 talented drivers from the country and abroad will be displaying their skills as they participate in 14 exciting races. JK Tyre Volkswagen Polo R Cup 2012 is part of the Sidvin Festival of Speed and had a number of excitement in store for auto enthusiasts. Ths included Audi A8 and TSI Race Polo car raxi drives while in the Flying Lap India’s very own Karun Chandok, Aditya Patel and Armaan Ebrahim were seen in a friendly race in the 5.2 litre V10 R8s. A lucky few were given the chance to be part of a Race Polo taxi drive aroud the F1 track.

A brother sister duo from Volkswagen Polo Cup South Africa will see Jeffrey John Kruger and Robin Catherine Kruger from participate here. Besides serious racing there were a number of fun event lined up which includes stunts being performed by some of the best, while a Super Car Parade was also lined up. Entry was strictly restricted to invitees only or through promotion by event partners.

Guest Driver Jeffrey John Kruger took pole position in the last qualifier of Polo R Cup 2012 on his first stint on a F1 curcuit with a timing of setting the quickest lap time of 2:26.039, with Avdumber Hede in the 1st row coming in 1.523 seconds slower. Third place was sealed by Ameya Walavalkar(Championship leader) and Saurav Bandyopadhay started 4th. This meant, at the end of Saturday’s race, Ameya Walavalkar (384 points)Sandeep Kumar (307 points), Rahil Noorani (301 points), Avdumber Hede (277 points) were all in the contention for series winner.

Sunday saw Ameya Walavalkar walk away as Volkswagen Polo R Cup 2012 Champion. He overtook Jeffrey John Kruger on the last lap of Race 1 to seal a win. at the Buddh International Circuit. Ameya becomes the third winner of the only one make series in India, the Volkswagen Polo R Cup, after Sailesh Bolisetti and Vishnu Prasad. Prashanth Tharani Singh won Race 2 ahead of Munjal Savla and Jeffrey John Kruger. While guest driver Jeffrey had a string start from pole position, Ameya started strong at 3rd place, overtaking Avdumber Hede at corner 1 of lap 1. Lap 4, saw both drivers closing in on Jeffrey, with Ameya being able to get passed him with a lap to go. This was his 4th win of the season clocking a time of 14:48.856. Jeffrey came in a close second trailing by 0.745 seconds, followed by Avdumber who was 1.276 seconds behind Ameya.

Race 2 of the Volkswagen Polo R Cup 2012 saw Prashanth Tharani Singh begin at pole and end his race in 1st place, ensuring his 1st Polo R Cup victory. Munjal Savla and Siddharth TT put up a great run behind race leader. Jeffrey had a strong race yet again, and overtook Siddharth on the final lap clinching 3rd place. Volkswagen Polo R Cup 2012 Race 2 timings were clocked at Prashanth Tharani Singh (12:18.930), Munjal 4.160 seconds behind him and Jeffery at 0.108 seconds behind Munjal. Race 2 was reduced to a 5 laps instead of 6 because of a formation lap accident. 2013 Volkswagen Polo R Cup racer, A Sandeep Kumar’s win in the pro category sees him get a chance represent the country at the 2013 Scirocco R-Cup in Germany.

Rushlane Google news