HomeCar NewsJK Tyre Volkswagen Polo R Cup 2014 Round One Race 2 result

JK Tyre Volkswagen Polo R Cup 2014 Round One Race 2 result

Race 2 began with Bonnie on reverse-grid pole position alongside Ishaan Dodhiwala. Race 1 winner Angad began in 8th position. Bonnie started well and held his own into turn 1 ahead of Anindith and Ishaan. The safety car was pressed into service in Lap 7 as Amlandeep Bora spun and his car stalled on Turn 9. behind the safety car, Bonnie continued to lead with Anindith in 2nd place and Ishaan dropped back down the order.

Angad passed Anshul and Anindith for 2nd place from where he stayed behind Bonnie for 5 laps. He did close in on the penultimate lap as both drivers were side-by-side on the main straight, with Bonnie crossing finish line in first place. Karthik Tharani Singh, who started in 18th position finished 5th behind Karminder Pal Singh.

Rally driver Bonnie Thomas said, “I just joined Volkswagen Polo R Cup to learn. This round has been tough, my fellow drivers have been really good, but starting on pole gave me the advantage. I tried my best to defend my position and maintain my lead. I would also like to take this opportunity to thank my coach Rayomand Banajee and driver Aditya Patel for guiding me throughout this weekend. A special thanks to Volkswagen Motorsport Head Sirish for giving me a chance at this truly professional racing series.”

Angad Singh Matharoo said, “It has been a super weekend for me and I am thrilled to be on the podium twice over the weekend. I hope to continue my good streak for the rest of the season and look forward to coming back to Coimbatore for Round 2!”

Sirish Vissa, Head of Volkswagen Motorsport India said, “We work hard to prepare the drivers and ensure we have the best possible line-up to provide some exciting racing. I am very happy to see these close races and this weekend is a testament to the hard work we have put in our drivers development program. It is always good to not know who the winner is till the chequered flag comes out as it keeps the race thrilling.”




S.NoFirst NameLast NameTime
2Angad SinghMatharoo21:07.9
4KarminderPal Singh21:09.5
5KarthikTharani Singh21:11.0
18Prabhanjan DNF
Rushlane Google news