HomeCar NewsJK Tyre Volkswagen Polo R Cup 2014 Round One Race 1 result

JK Tyre Volkswagen Polo R Cup 2014 Round One Race 1 result

Race 1 was soon red-flagged when Venkatesh Shreyas and Prabhanjan collided towards the end of lap 1. Both Karthik and Anshul used the opportunity to enter pit lane to fix their cars before the race re-started. Karthik’s car was beyond repair at teh point and he didn’t restart, while Anshul was able to begin again. Lee Keshav Gupta started well and held on to the lead ahead of Anshul and Angad. Karminder moved into 4th position on lap 4 to tail the leading trio.

While Anshul did put Lee Keshav under pressure but could not overtake him. Lap 9 gave Anshul an opportunity to make a move but both cars touched and Anshul took the lead over Lee Keshav now in 4th place. Karminder took race lead on Lap 10 but overtaking Anshul on lap 10 under yellow flags yeilded a 30 second penalty sending him down to 10th position. Angad got past Anshul on the penultimate lap to take 2nd and 3rd positions respectively.

Angad Singh Matharoo began Race 1 of JK Tyre Volkswagen Polo R Cup 2014 Round One 9th on the grid. Upon winning he said, “It is not the best way to take the win but after a tough qualifying session I am very happy to win the race. To start 9th on the grid and then win the very first race of the season is an exhilarating feeling. After an average performance in the qualifying, I am delighted to have been able to put in 100% in the race and having won it!”

Anshul Manoj Shah finished in 2nd position and said, “At the first start, I had a big bang in Turn 1 and thought I was out of the race and had to retire to the pits. But Volkswagen mechanics were amazing and helped repair my car and I was able to get back to the grid on time. I would like to personally thank my mechanics for getting my car out in time. This is my first podium finish in Polo R Cup and I couldn’t have been more excited.”

Sirish Vissa, Head of Volkswagen Motorsport said, “This is a very nice way for me to start here as the new Head of Volkswagen Motorsport India. My team has been excellent since the beginning of the season and have worked hard behind the scenes. I hope the rest of the races are as exciting as this one. Our focus this year has been to invest in drivers and their development. What remains constant though is our endeavour of grooming of young racing talent in India from grass root level. With the inclusion of a mid-season test drive and a mid-season fitness camp we strive to increase drivers’ development.”

JK Tyre Volkswagen Polo R Cup 2014 – Race 1 Classification

1Angad SinghMatharoo19:27.3
3Lee KeshavGupta19:30.2


Rushlane Google news