HomeCar NewsVolkswagen Scirocco R-Cup Hockenheim and Sebastien Ogier at Monaco GP support event

Volkswagen Scirocco R-Cup Hockenheim and Sebastien Ogier at Monaco GP support event

They included former DTM champions Nicola Larini, Eric van de Poele, and Jan Lammers , and Martin Donnelly, both ex Formula One drivers. This time round however, the Legend Cup saw a novel design. Instead of competing just for fun, as was seen in the past, these four motoring legends will battle it out in a team duel.

Called DTM Legends Vs Motorsports Allstars, there will be a two against two battle held each weekend while points will be allotted in much the same way as was seen in previous DTM events. Scores of each of the two team members will then be added together to decide the winner.

The events promise to be a great deal of entertaining with former racing idols out to show that they are still ambitious and still the best racing drivers. They will be seen racing in the innovative natural gas engine 285 hp Scirocco which is slated to be less CO2 emission efficient as compared to conventional petrol powered engines. Gazprom, the world’s largest supplier of natural gas is the new supplier of environmentally sound fuel. In the 1st race of Scirocco R-Cup 2013, India’s Sandeep Kumar finished 12th in the junior category, and 19th overall. He is the Volkswagen Polo R Cup 2012 Pro Category winner.

This year, VW Motorsport India conducted pre-season tests on 13th May at BIC for Polo R Cup 2013 drivers. Of the 19 drivers who participated, 13 were rookies driving the VW Polo TSI powered race car the first time ever. This season 21 drivers will race. For fans who are keen about Volkswagen Polo R Cup India, you could design your own Polo R Cup car and upload the same on their Facebook page. Best sketches will be announced by 15th June, and prizes to be won.

Last weekend, Sebastien Ogier made a guest appearance at the Monaco GP support event in the Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup. He finished 13th overall, and his Project 1 teammate, Sean Edwards won. The event saw him lead Sebastien Loeb who was partaking in his 2nd round of multi-discipline racing as he finished 16th.


* indicates required