HomeCar NewsDelhi diesel ban - All details about Supreme Court order

Delhi diesel ban – All details about Supreme Court order

The Delhi diesel ban episode has left several automakers shocked as it would reflect poorly on their sales performance in the new year. For some automakers like Mercedes-Benz and Land Rover, their entire diesel portfolio is off the shelf due to the ban. Here are the main features of the Supreme court order that you need to know.

The Supreme Court has imposed an interim ban on diesel vehicles with engines larger than 2.0-litre in Delhi for a period of three months from January, 2016. Based on the impact of the ban on pollution levels in the region, SC may extend the ban further. Also banned are trucks more than 10 year old to ply in Delhi.

In addition to the banning of larger engined diesel vehicles, the SC has also announced that it would impose one-time pollution taxes on diesel vehicles with engine displacement less than 2.0-litre. The magnitude of the pollution tax is likely to depend on the vehicle price and this move is set to drive up the new car prices in Delhi. There will be a hearing on January 5 to determine the quantum of the pollution tax.

Smaller engined diesel cars will be levied a one-time pollution tax in Delhi starting from January 2016.

The order also imposes pollution tax of INR 1,400 for LCVs and INR 2,600 for trucks that are entering Delhi. No commercial vehicle will be allowed to transit through Delhi to other places.

All taxis in Delhi including the ones which use taxi hailing apps (Ola, Uber, etc) should be converted to CNG by March 1. The court has also set a deadline of April 1 for the Delhi government and civic bodies to vacuum clean streets, repair pavements, build new ones and stop burning bio-wastes.

On January 5, the Supreme Court will decide on date to implement BS-IV emission norms across the country, date to implement BS-VI in Delhi and closing of Badarpur thermal plant.

List of Diesel cars banned in Delhi

Chevrolet Tavera
Chevrolet Trailblazer

Ford Endeavour

Mitsubishi Pajero Sport

Hyundai Santa Fe

Mahindra Bolero
Mahindra SsangYong Rexton
Mahindra Scorpio
Mahindra XUV500
Mahindra Xylo

Tata Aria
Tata Safari
Tata Safari Storme
Tata Sumo

Toyota Fortuner
Toyota Innova
Toyota Land Cruiser
Toyota Land Cruiser Prado

Audi Q5 3.0L TDI
Audi Q7
Audi A8L

BMW 5 Series 3.0L 530d
BMW X3 xDrive 30d M Sport 3.0L
BMW 6 Series
BMW 7 Series

Jaguar XF
Jaguar XJ L

Land Rover Freelander 2
Land Rover Discovery Sport
Land Rover Range Rover Evoque
Land Rover Discovery
Land Rover Range Rover Sport
Land Rover Range Rover LWB

Maserati Ghibli
Maserati Quattroporte

Mercedes Benz A Class
Mercedes Benz B Class
Mercedes Benz CLA Class
Mercedes Benz GLA Class
Mercedes Benz C Class
Mercedes Benz E Class
Mercedes Benz GLE Class
Mercedes Benz CLS Class
Mercedes Benz GL Class
Mercedes Benz S Class

Porsche Macan
Porsche Cayenne
Porsche Panamera

Supreme Court Judgement – 16/12/2015

New Audi Q7 Diesel Delhi Launch – Photos

Rushlane Google news