HomeCar NewsSirish Vissa appointed Volkswagen Motorsport India Head, 2014 Polo R Cup driver...

Sirish Vissa appointed Volkswagen Motorsport India Head, 2014 Polo R Cup driver registration on

With about 20 years experience in domestic and international motorsport, Sirish is one of the only Indians with immense motorsport engineering experience having developed a car for the 24 hours LeMans endurance race. He has established 2 companies in India to promote new ideas in the manufacturing industry and motorsport.

Mr. Mahesh Kodumudi, President and Managing Director, Volkswagen India Private Limited, Head of Volkswagen Group Sales India Private Limited said, “Sirish’s vast experience and valuable knowledge on industry know-how will further strengthen our motorsport activities in India, which started and has seen phenomenal success under the guidance of Prithviraj until now. We welcome Sirish to the Volkswagen family and look forward to his strategic guidance of our Motorsport activity as he takes on this new responsibility”.

“I am honoured and excited at the opportunity of heading the already well-established Volkswagen Motorsport division in India as the sport continues to evolve. Prithviraj has set a benchmark and I will give my 100% to pick it up from where he has left it and ensure that motorsport continues to grow”, said Mr. Sirish Vissa, Head of Volkswagen Motorsport India.

Prithviraj Siddappa, former Volkswagen Motorsport Head, associated with Motorsport since its inception, said ‚“It has been a pleasure spearheading Volkswagen Motorsport journey in India and I firmly believe that it will flourish further under Sirish’s leadership. He has vast knowledge of the sport and I am glad that an expert like him will take over from me. I am sure everyone will extend the same support that I got over the last four years.” Prithviraj Siddappa, former Head of Volkswagen Motorsport India moves to Volkswagen headquarters, Wolfsburg to take up new challenges in technical development.

Volkswagen Motorsport India took off here with its Polo Cup India in 2010. The first race was held at Balewadi in Pune in a street race format. Therafter there has bee no looking back for the Volkswagen Polo R Cup now an annual multiple race series championship held across tracks in India. Participating cars are technically identical for similar performance to ensure that skilled drivers excel, and in doing so, a small pool of emerging talent has been able to move onto the next level of motorsports globally.

In 2013, Volkswagen Motorsport India began providing teams and individuals running Volkswagen Polo rally cars in the Indian National Rally Championship (INRC) with tech assistance and spares. Volkswagen Polo won the 1600-cc class. The company also tested 2 factory-prepared Volkswagen Polo rally cars (Volkswagen Polo R2 car and the Volkswagen Polo TDI Rally car).

Registrations are now open for Volkswagen Polo R Cup India 2014. Mumbai driver, Rahil Noorani was crowned 2013 Volkswagen Polo R Cup Champion after a podium finish in Race 3. Yatin Magu won in the Junior Category. Pune driver Gaurav Mehta won Race 2 of the Volkswagen Polo R Cup to win his first ever race in a competitive series. South African guest driver Jeffrey Kruger reached the podium at Buddh International Circuit (BIC) in Race 3 to end the season on a high.

At the time Rahil Noorani, 2013 Volkswagen Polo R Cup winner said, “Today happens to be my birthday and this is the best gift I could have given to myself. It was a very emotional moment for me. This is my third attempt and previous two times I missed out by couple of points so this is very special and I can say I am third time lucky. The engineers, mechanics and entire Volkswagen team are responsible for this so a big ‘thank you’ to all of them.”

Yatin Magu said, “I am extremely glad to win this title. I was leading before this round and despite no podiums I have been able to finish all the 3 race of this weekend at decent places. This season has been very successful for me and I look forward to more racing in the future.”

Champion of 2013 season, Rahil Noorani secured a seat for JK Tyre FB 02 2014 season, and a guest drive at Volkswagen Scirocco R-Cup 2014. Jeffrey Kruger, Star of Volkswagen Polo R Cup 2013 was offered a Guest drive at the Volkswagen Golf R Cup 2014 in Europe. Yatin Magu recived a fully sponsored seat for 2014 Volkswagen Polo R Cup.

Rushlane Google news