JK Tyre Volkswagen Polo R Cup 2012 all set to be flagged-off at Kari Motor Speedway in Coimbatore this weekend

As JK Tyre Volkswagen Polo R Cup 2012 gets underway at Kari Motor Speedway, Coimbatore on July 08, 2012 the new TSI Race Polo will be at the forefront of all attention. During the upcoming weekend, two races will be held wherein a total of 20 racers will compete against each other for championship points. At the Coimbatore circuit, overtaking opportunities are limited but racers are willing to take chances as winning pole position is critical.

Volkswagen has introduced new TSI engine in Polo. This vehicle has a 1.4 liter direct injection, four cylinder engine producing 180 hp at 6500 rpm and 250 Nm torque at 2000 to 4500 rpm.

This year participants will be divided into three categories – Junior, Pro and Master. Drivers will be in age groups of 16 to 26 years who have had experience in a maximum of 8 races in the past 5 years who will be admitted to the Junior Category.

Drivers aged 16 to 26 with experience in over 8 races will be able to participate in the Pro Category while Masters Category will see drivers 26 years and above.

Prize money will be at Rs.50,000, Rs.40,000 and Rs.30,000 for first three winners. Fees for the Junior and Pro category are Rs.7 lakhs while participation fees for Master’s Category is Rs.14 lakhs for the entire season.

Auto News Release

TSI Powered Race Polos’ first outing at the Inaugural Round of Polo R Cup 2012 to be flagged in Coimbatore

Coimbatore, July 04, 2011 – JK Tyre Volkswagen Polo R Cup 2012 will be flagged-off at the Kari Motor Speedway in Coimbatore on July 08, 2012. The young Polo R Cup drivers compete with each other for an early lead in the all new TSI Race Polo. The race weekend will have two races wherein the 20 drivers will fight for the championship points. Winning the pole position will be very crucial as it will give an additional edge to the driver for the races on Coimbatore track as overtaking opportunities are very limited. With a mix of previous seasons’ drivers and rookies the season opener of this one-make touring car series definitely will be a cracker.

“Last two years have been momentous for Volkswagen Motorsport. It has helped us to establish ourselves as an ideal platform for young drivers to step into motorsports. This year we have taken the benchmark a notch higher by introducing the TSI engine in the Race Polo which is more apt with the type of cars that the young Indian racers can expect when they graduate to international racing. The response from these young drivers has been promising and positive after the pre-season test drive they did last month at the Buddh International Circuit. It will be interesting to watch the new car and how the young racers handle a more powerful version of Race Polo during the races”, said Prithviraj Siddappa, Head of Volkswagen Motorsport India.

The line-up of 20 drivers selected for JK Tyre Volkswagen Polo R Cup 2012:

Calendar for JK Tyre Volkswagen Polo R Cup 2012:

Round 1 July 06-08, 2012 – Coimbatore – KMS
Round 2 July 27-29, 2012 – Coimbatore – KMS
Round 3 Aug 24-26, 2012 – Chennai – MMRT
Round 4 Sep 14-16, 2012 – Chennai – MMRT
Round 5 Oct 12-14, 2012 – Chennai – MMRT
Round 6 Nov 30- 02 Dec, 2012 – Noida – JPSI

About Volkswagen Motorsport
In more than 40 years of motorsport history Volkswagen has been setting standards primarily in three areas: The brand celebrated exploits in touring car racing, formula racing and rally racing.

The brand’s history in motorsport started in 1966, in formula racing. Formula V – “V” stood for Volkswagen – became an important career step for drivers like Keke Rosberg or Niki Lauda. With 58 hp and the robust technology of the Beetle it offered favourably priced entry and high-quality racing for young drivers. Later, one-make cups like Formula König powered by Volkswagen and Formula Volkswagen built upon this line and consistently followed through on the one-make cup idea with standard chassis. In 2008 Formula ADAC powered by Volkswagen started to continue this tradition.

In comparison with other manufacturers Volkswagen set the pace on the formula stage as well. Between 1979 and 1994 Volkswagen, as a Formula 3 engine manufacturer, won 55 international titles, including seven in Germany. Since September 2007 Volkswagen has been competing in the Formula 3 Euro Series, since 2008 in the German Formula 3 Cup and since 2009 in the British Formula 3, and with success: 2009 saw the title wins in the ­German and British Championships, and 2010 in all three series. At the prestigious Formula 3 finale in Macau in ­November 2009 and 2010 Edoardo Mortara celebrated wins “powered by Volkswagen”.

Successes in rally sport
While the first off-road excursions date back all the way to the 1970s, Volkswagen has been systematically promoting young talent since 1980. For half a decade, the Golf Rally Cup offered optimum opportunities to young drivers. Concurrently, Volkswagen in the 1986 World Rally Championship clinched the title win in Group A with the Golf and driver Kenneth Eriksson. In cross-country rally sport the brand achieved its first big exploit by winning the 1980 Dakar Rally. From 2009 to 2011 Volkswagen became the first manufacturer to win the legendary rallye with a car powered by a Diesel engine.

Attractive one-make cups in touring car racing
In more than three decades Volkswagen has shaped the touring car scene as well. The Scirocco Cup, as the first one-make cup from 1976 onwards, produced a subsequent Formula 1 driver, Manfred Winkelhock. It was followed by the Golf Cup and the Lupo/Polo Cup from which numerous talented drivers managed to ascend to higher-level series. Currently, the Scirocco R-Cup is causing a sensation.